## CHAPTER 19 \_\_\_

## GOVERNMENT

19.1	Organization of the federal government	19-1
19.1.1	Responsible government	19-1
19.2	The executive	19-3
19.2.1	The Crown	19-3
19.2.2	The Privy Council	19-4
19.2.3	The Prime Minister	19-4
19.2.4	The Cabinet	19-5
19.3	The legislature	19-7
19.3.1	The Senate	19-9
19.3.2	The House of Commons	19-10
19.4	The judiciary	19-10
19.5	Federal government administration	19-10
19.5.1	Government employment	19-10
19.5.2	Departments, boards, commissions and	
	corporations	19-13
19.5.3	Applied titles	19-13
19.6	Provincial and territorial governments	19-14
19.6.1	Provincial governments	19-14
19.6.2	Territorial governments	19-15
19.7	Local government	19-16